DOWNHAM TOWN Website Affiliated County – Norfolk
Chairman Sandra Calvert Rotherfield House, The Row, Wereham, Kings Lynn, Norfolk PE33 9AU
01366 500507 (home) 07868 039520 (mobile)
Secretary George Dickson 160 Bexwell Road, Downham Market, Norfolk PE38 9LJ
01366 383649 (home) 07841 934026(mobile)
Programme Editor Barnes Print (E.A.) Ltd 15 Bridge Court, Riverside Close, Scarning, Dereham, Norfolk NR19 2DN
01362 691980 (home)
Ground Memorial Field Lynn Road, Downham Market, Norfolk PE38 9QE
Colours Red Shirts Red Shorts Red Socks
Change Colours Blue Shirts Blue Shorts Blue Shorts
Midweek Matches Tuesday
Floodlights 151 lux inspected 11.10.14
Manager Paul Neary Appointed September 2017
07525 455949 (mobile)



The club was established in 1881, and were originally nicknamed the Saints. They initially played in junior leagues in the King’s Lynn area, before joining the Peterborough and District League. In 1949 the club gained senior status after being elected to the league’s Premier Division. In 1962 they won the Peterborough Senior Cup, which they retained the following year, also winning the league title.

In 1964 they won the Norfolk Senior Cup, winning it again two years later. Further victories in the Peterborough Senior Cup came in 1967, 1972 and 1987, whilst the league was won in 1973–74, 1978–79, 1986–87 and 1987–88.

Following back-to-back titles in 1987 and 1988, the club were founding members of the new Division One of the Eastern Counties League in 1988, where they have remained since. Their best league performance was third place in 1998–99.

They began entering the FA Vase in 1979, reaching the third round in 1986–87, which remains their best performance in the competition.

Norfolk Senior Cup Winners 1964, 1966
Peterborough & District League Champions 1962–63, 1973–74, 1978–79, 1986–87, 1987–88

Record Attendance
1,500 vs. Norwich City, 1948–49 (Friendly)
440 vs. Fakenham Town, 1999 (Norfolk Senior Cup)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>