GORLESTON Affiliated County – Norfolk
Chairman Alan Gordon Copperfields, Paston Drive, Caister-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk NR30 5QG
07818 455200 (mobile)
Secretary Colin Bray 261 El Alamein Way, Bradwell, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk NR31 8TX
01493 844401 (business) 07918 186645 (mobile)
Fixtures Secretary David Hardy 14 Redfern Road, Norwich, Norfolk NR7 9RB
01603 438207 (home) 01603 276928 (business) 07867 545782 (mobile)
Programme Editor Barnes Print 
Ground Emerald Park Woodfarm Lane, Gorleston-On-Sea, Norfolk NR31 9AQ
01493 602802 (ground)
Colours Green Shirts Green Shorts Green Socks
Change Colours Blue Shirts Blue Shorts Blue Socks
Midweek Matches Tuesday
Floodlights 156 lux inspected 28.09.16
Manager Stewart Larter Appointed October 2017
07795 031969 (mobile)

The club was established on 27 September 1887 by members of Gorleston Cricket Club looking for a winter pastime, and were initially nicknamed the “Cards”, playing in crimson shirts and blue shorts. Their first competitive match was a game against Beccles Caxton in the Suffolk Senior Cup (at the time, Gorleston was still in Suffolk), losing 1–0. The following year they moved to the Recreation Ground.

In 1903 the club began playing in green shirts and white shorts and later joined the Great Yarmouth Borough League, winning it in their first season, and then the Norfolk & Suffolk League. After a series of league wins and Norfolk Senior Cup successes Gorleston became founder members of the Eastern Counties League in 1935.

In 1951–52 the club reached the first round of the FA Cup for the first time, and were drawn against Leyton Orient. After a 2–2 draw at Brisbane Road and a 0–0 draw at the Recreation Ground (at which the club’s post war record attendance of 4,473 was set), a second replay was held at Arsenal’s Highbury Stadium, resulting in a 5–4 win for Leyton Orient, with Gorleston having been 4–1 down at one point in the match.

The following season Gorleston won the league and also the Norfolk Senior Cup. In 1955–56 they won the League Cup, beating Tottenham ‘A’ 2–1 but lost 10-1 to Gillingham when they reached the first round of the FA Cup again in 1957–58.

In 1959–60 the club finished nineteenth in the league and financial problems forced them to drop back into the Norfolk & Suffolk League. They were founder members of the Anglian Combination, and returned to the Eastern Counties League as Combination champions in 1969, a year in which the Senior Cup was regained in 1969.

The Eastern Counties League was won for a second time in 1972–73. A twelfth Senior Cup victory was achieved in 1978, and the club won back-to-back league titles in 1979–80 and 1980–81. In 1983 the club left the Recreation Ground to move to Emerald Park.

After being relegated in 1993–94, the club returned to the Premier Division as First Division champions in 1995–96. A fourteenth Senior Cup was won in 2001 with a 4–0 win over local rivals Great Yarmouth Town, before the club was relegated again in 2004–05. They returned to the Premier Division after winning the First Division in 2010–11.

Gorleston won the Norfolk Senior Cup for a 16th time in 2014 beating Wroxham 1-0 in the final.

Eastern Counties League Champions 1952–53, 1972–73, 1979–80, 1980–81
First Division champions 1995–96, 2010–11
League Cup winners 1955–56
First Division KO Cup winners 2010-11
Norfolk Senior Cup Winners 1922, 1923, 1926, 1928, 1931, 1933, 1936, 1938, 1951, 1953, 1969, 1978, 1984, 2001, 2012, 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>