Thurlow Nunn League Season Review 2014/15

2014/15 was the third season supported by the valued sponsorship of Thurlow Nunn.

On the pitch Norwich United proved their dominance by winning both the League Championship and the League Challenge Cup. The Planters won the title by 26 points and with 6 games still left to play. They passed the century mark in both league points and goals. Norwich United were also the Thurlow Nunn League side that went furthest in the FA Cup and, along with Stanway Rovers, reached the last 16 of the FA Vase. Their opponents in the League Challenge Cup Final were Walsham le Willows.

Runners up in the league were Godmanchester Rovers who had their best ever finish and in Tom Meechan had the division’s leading goalscorer, just one ahead of Norwich United’s Mat Blake. In addition Godmanchester won the Huntingdonshire Senior Cup.

Third placed Stanway Rovers also had their highest league finish to add to their impressive FA Vase run. The young Kirkley & Pakefield side’s fourth place equaled the club’s best ever performance and Felixstowe & Walton United were fifth. Whitton United are also to be congratulated on being Suffolk Premier Cup runners-up, taking Conference side Lowestoft Town to extra time in the final.

With no team being promoted to Step 4 this season three teams are to be relegated to the First Division at the end of the season. They are Ely City, Diss Town and Wivenhoe Town.

Promoted from the First Division are Champions Long Melford, Swaffham Town and Saffron Walden Town. It will the first time that Long Melford have played in the top tier of the league. Swaffham had the division’s leading goalscorer in Alex Vincent while Saffron Walden had a tense finish to the season beating rivals Great Yarmouth Town in their final match to secure the third promotion spot from their opponents. The match drew a crowd of 762, the highest league attendance for 6 years.

An impressive AFC Sudbury Reserves side beat Great Yarmouth Town in the First Division KO Cup Final, just 6 days after the Bloaters disappointment in the league. Like most of the reserve sides AFC Sudbury finished in the bottom half of the First Division table, although debutants King’s Lynn Town Reserves were a credible fifth.

The Team Performance Awards, kindly sponsored by Thurlow Nunn, were won on two occasions by Norwich United and once by Swaffham Town. Kirkley & Pakefield, Thetford Town and Halstead Town were winners of Fair Play Awards during the season.

Witham Town were Reserve League Champions with Saffron Walden Town winning the Reserve League First Division. Lowestoft Town beat Brightlingsea Regent in a high tempo Chell Trophy Final while Hadleigh United won the Suffolk Senior Reserve Cup.

The Thurlow Nunn Youth League maintained its high standards with Histon, Woodbridge Town, Biggleswade Town, Dereham Town and Brightlingsea Regent winning the regional divisions. Biggleswade went on to win the Championship play-offs, beating Woodbridge after extra time in the final.. Needham Market won the Thurlow Nunn Youth Cup, beating Histon in the final, while Royston Town had an excellent run in the FA Youth Cup before bowing out 2-1 to Arsenal.

Finally the season saw the sad passing of local football stalwarts Keith Dixon (Woodbridge Town), Roger Wosahlo (Ipswich Wanderers) and Tony Dickerson (Wroxham).

Comments are closed.